Skip to main content
Saturday, August 3, 2024 • 7:30 PM

La Jolla Music Society


The Baker-Baum Concert Hall

This concert unites the poignant Mendelssohn siblings’ works—Fanny’s unduly neglected remarkable work and Felix’s stirring String Quartet, a reaction to her early passing—with compositions by artists silenced or oppressed during WWII. It embodies the spirit of perseverance and the unbreakable will of the human spirit through music.

Piano Trio in D Minor, Op.11 

Erin Keefe, violin; Jay Campbell, cello; Joyce Yang, piano


Guitar Quintet, Op.143 

Sean Shibe, guitar

Abeo Quartet

Njioma Grevious, Rebecca Benjamin, violins
James Kang, viola
Macintyre Taback, cello


Divertissement for Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon

Nicholas Daniel, oboe; Tommaso Lonquich, clarinet; Eleni Katz, bassoon 


String Quartet No. 6 in F Minor, Op. 80 

Tessa Lark, Rebecca Benjamin, violins; Nicole Divall, viola; Jay Campbell, cello