Skip to main content
Sunday, July 28, 2024 • 3 PM

La Jolla Music Society

Passions and Storms

The Baker-Baum Concert Hall

Janáček’s “Kreutzer Sonata” Quartet, inspired by Tolstoy’s tale of jealousy and marital discord set against the backdrop of Beethoven’s Kreutzer Sonata, pairs with Composer-in-Residence Thomas Adès. Adès performs his evocative The Tempest suite alongside these deeply passionate works.

String Quartet No. 1 “Kreutzer Sonata”
Alexi Kenney, Tessa Lark, violins; Teng Li, viola; Jonathan Swensen, cello


Selections from On an Overgrown Path
Thomas Adès, piano


Violin Sonata
Augustin Hadelich, violin; Thomas Adès, piano


Suite from Tempest for Violin and Piano
Augustin Hadelich, violin; Thomas Adès, piano


Kreutzer Sonata, Op. 47 (arr. for string quintet)
Tessa Lark, Andrew Wan, violins; Teng Li, viola; Jay Campbell, Jonathan Swensen, cellos